Trackback Spam Revisited
If you run a blog or weblog, chances are you’ve been hit with trackback spam/comment spam and chances are you don’t like it. Well Paul decided to take the initiative and post the spammer WHOIS info and mentioned reporting the spammers.
I’ve decided to take a little initiative myself and I’ve tracked down the hosting provider for the account.
The details listed in the WHOIS database is likely to be false (and if it is, you can report them to InterNIC for supplying incomplete/incorrect details). Their listed host server is webserverhost.net which is also registered to the same person who owns tigerspice.com. Hmmm, almost dead end.
I decided to trace the IP block for n1 and ns2 at webserverhost.net (65.75.152.30 and 65.75.152.31) and found that it belongs to Managed Solutions Group, Inc. (managed.com).
A quick search on Google shows that apparently Managed Solutions Group, Inc. doesn’t really care that people are setting up spammer sites on their plans, but I’d report tigerspice to them anyway.
Paul’s on to something – if enough people complain, they can’t rightly ignore us all.
So, with this information in mind – take a moment to send a message to:
support@namecheap.com (the spammy website registrar)
abuse@managed.com (the spammer’s host)
If you’re feeling really ambitious, call the hosting company and complain, fax in your complaint, or write a snail mail letter:
Managed Solutions Group, Inc.
Corporate Office
46750 Fremont Blvd. #107
Fremont, CA 94538
Telephone: 888.585.8889
Facsimile: 510.659.8900
While you’re at it, report them to Google, Yahoo!, and DMOZ as well
– all of the links go directly to their spam abuse reporting – and a note to any spammers/trackback spammers: cheers a**hat!
NOTICE: Please make sure to read the comments re: DMOZ
February 20th, 2005 at 7:46 pm
[...] nd done some more in-depth investigating of the spammers. You can get the juicy details in this post on her blog. Thanks Teli. At least now I know my post below [...]
February 20th, 2005 at 7:44 pm
Please please please DO NOT report tigerspice.com to DMOZ! We have had numerous reports already, and there is NOTHING we can do about the site. It is not listed in the DMOZ directory and we can’t control the site’s content.
February 20th, 2005 at 8:42 pm
@odpeditor: Thanks for dropping the note but I still say – should this website come across DMOZ, there should be a note to deny it flat out
. It’s not about the site’s content, it’s about the fact that they are spamming people.
@Paul: thanks for the mention
February 20th, 2005 at 10:41 pm
try the AHBL too — those guys are great!
February 20th, 2005 at 10:46 pm
Sweet – thanks Tom
February 21st, 2005 at 7:01 am
Here’s some sites about the phenomenon. Maybe one of these links will help?? DMOZ Comment Spam Listings
February 21st, 2005 at 8:07 am
Thanks Lisa,
Comment spam is not a new problem and instead of complaining about it – the only way spammers will start to listen is when spam becomes too expensive for them.
How do we make spam expensive for them? Shut them down wherever they go. Lock them out of every avenue. If the cost of registering new domains/hosting accounts in order to continue their “promotional efforts” is no longer worth it – they’ll eventually stop.
Instead of ignoring the problem and hoping it will go away (it will not) – people need to take action against it and speak up.
Unfortunately, spammers are trying to abuse Google, Yahoo!, MSN, and DMOZ for their causes and while I understand there’s not much that can be done against the content of the site – there is something that can be done – lock them out of the search results
Obviously this person has applied to DMOZ – send them notice that they will not be listed under any circumstances for “spamming” people and that is something that Google, Yahoo!, and MSN can do as well.
When they’re locked out of the very things they want – then, and only then – will they consider this a fruitless effort.
February 21st, 2005 at 2:51 pm
Thanks to your suggestion of reporting it to DMOZ, when we can do NOTHING about these spammers, *we* are now getting spammed with abuse reports.
Could you please remove that suggestion? I repeat, there is nothing we can do about it. It’s like telling Joe to stop spamming because Mary is spamming you.
The site is not listed by DMOZ and will not be. That’s the only thing we can do. We don’t control other people’s websites!
Please please please I am begging you to remove the DMOZ link. We are all volunteer editors and now your site is causing all of us undue work.
PLEASE?
February 21st, 2005 at 3:56 pm
You can catch more flies with honey than you can with vinegar. I don’t do sarcasm or undercover rude very well and it will not further your cause – at least not with me.
I can understand you may be frustrated because it may seem like someone just isn’t listening to you.
I’ve listened to you and I’ve heard you. You’ve voiced your concern and plea in the comments and the notice is still up for everyone to see unedited – I’ve added a note to the post to actually read the comments. What people do after reading it is their own business. I don’t control other people’s actions (nor does my blog)!
March 26th, 2005 at 1:07 am
lmfao @ odpeditor
January 14th, 2006 at 10:23 am
[...] Mildinsanity traced some of his DNS servers, and they came down to numbers in that block. [...]