Tigerspice is offline (hopefully they stay that way)

An entry by teli on 02/21/2005

It seems that tigerspice.com and webserverhost.net has been bumped offline.

Also, the trackback spam for tigerspice.com seems to have stopped for the moment, but Google and Yahoo! still have a few pages from the site in their index. Hopefully they get removed soon.

Apparently someone somewhere with some power to shut them down heard the complaints :) - woo and hoo. One small victory, but it still feels pretty damn cool.

# | Leave your comment | Filed in: Geekie Stuff

10 Responses to “Tigerspice is offline (hopefully they stay that way)”

  1. Jason Stare Says:

    *Does a happy dance* Sweet! Even though I don’t have to deal with blog spam that much anymore, seeing people shut down for practicing that awful craft just gives me a warm fuzzy.

  2. teli Says:

    I know what you mean - I get a warm fuzzy too :)

    Although I only got a few TB and comment spams from tigerspice in comparison to other people - it’s nice to watch them crash and burn for it.

  3. Steve MacLellan Says:

    I followed your instructions to report them to their abuse departments. Maybe a whole lot of other people did too.

    I didn’t have a single TB spam today.

    Thanks Teli!

    Best Regards,
    Steve MacLellan

  4. teli Says:

    Cool beans - I am so glad to hear that other bloggers are benefiting from this too!

    Don’t forget to thank Paul too - he’s the one who inspired me :D

  5. Andre Chaperon Says:

    LMAO! One thing with spammers… they shouldn’t spam other spammers! It’s like shitting on their own doorstep…

    Was listening to WebmasterRadio.fm last night, and the host, a spammer himself, mentioned that his new blog was hit by the texas hold’em guys. He said that he probably knows the culprits, and that he may give ‘em back a bit of their own medicine… maybe it kinda worked? :-)

    Andre

  6. teli Says:

    OMG!! That is too funny. You know (and this may seem really bad) - I hope the spammers get into a spam war within their own little cult so they can leave the rest of the world alone :D

  7. Melissa Says:

    I still got lots of visits from tigerspice overnight… wonder why?

  8. teli Says:

    I’ve decided to check out tigerspice domain to see what was up - turns out he has the redirect on (via namecheap.com) to another website so anyone visiting tigerspice.com automatically redirects to the casino site.

    I haven’t received any other spam messages from them, but I’ve seen a couple people mention they’ve received a few spam messages still.

    These boogers are resiliant…

  9. Bill Says:

    Hooray! I temporarily kept them at bay by putting all trackbacks into moderation. But I did notice that Tigerspice was taking a break lately. Let’s hope it stays that way :P

  10. Tigerspice Revisited | Ramblings of the Mildly Insane Says:

    [...] receiving this crap. tigerspice.com is back online - in fact, it was never really offline like I had surmised. For about a week, his domain redirected to [...]